Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Siri Derkert

1888Stockholm, Sweden | 1973Lidingö, Sweden
Informations

Swedish painter.

Siri Derkert was raised in a family of merchants and was finally accepted to the Royal Institute of Art after three failed attempts. In 1913, she moved to Paris to study at the Académie Colarossi and Académie de la Grande Chaumière thanks to a scholarship granted by a patron. There, she developed a form of “pictorial cubism” that combined the rationalism of French Cubism with the pathos of Scandinavian Expressionism. In 1914, she moved to Italy with Finnish artist Valle Rosenberg, with whom she had a son, Carlo Derkert. She would also have two daughters with the illustrator Bertil Lybeck. S. Derkert considered marriage to be a prison, but made an exception for Lybeck, although the couple never lived together. Her complex and subversive work required iron and cement, and the range of colours she used were often dark. Throughout the 1930s, she dissolved her figures in an interplay of bold outlines and dynamic shapes. Her works always described the reality that surrounded her: her children, everyday life, women at work, but also more tragic subjects like war, famine, and solitude. She was also an advocate for women’s rights, the protection of the environment, and peace.

She gained public recognition later in life on the occasion of an exhibition at the Gösta Stenman Gallery in 1944. In 1960, S. Derkert’s exhibition Rörelser i alla riktningar [Movements in all directions] made her the first woman to have a monographic exhibition at the Stockholm Museum of Modern Art. That same year, she received the Guggenheim Award for her painting Fågel i topp [Bird on top]. One of her major works is the decoration she designed for the Östermalmstorg station of the Stockholm metro (1963–1965). The monumental mural features lines of text from the Marseillaise and the Internationale, as well as the word “peace” in 50 languages, personal writings, and the names of female historical figures such as Sappho, Hypatia, Virginia Woolf, and Simone de Beauvoir. The visual dynamics of the piece, which result from a combination of words, images, and scrawled inscriptions, is reminiscent of the visual language of graffiti. S. Derkert became well known in the media for her assertive personality and straightforward statements, such as “Women confront all the misery that men inflict upon them because they are stronger.”

Read more

Sinziana Ravini

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Ryttare [rider], 1916-1917, oil on canvas, 54 x 51.5 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Portrait of a girl, 1930, oil on wood, 64.5 x 47.5 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Kvinnopelaren [the female pillar], 1958, charcoal on newsprint, 57 x 32 cm, Skissernas museum, Lund, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Balkongen [the balcony], 1916, oil on canvas, 61 x 52 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Två och en kattunge [two and a kitten], oil on canvas, 45 x 57 cm, private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Självporträtt [self-Portrait], 1915, oil on canvas, 76 x 56 cm, © Siri Derkert, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Ansikte [face], the 1950s-1960s, carved concrete, steel sheet band, 44.9 x 43 x 3.6 cm, Courtesy Andréhn-Schiptjenko, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Självporträtt [self portrait], 1966-1973, bent band iron, 22 x 20 x 1.6 cm, Courtesy Andréhn-Schiptjenko, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Skrivmaskinsskriverska, skiss till Kvinnopelaren [Typewriter, sketch for the Woman Pillar], 1956-1958, marker pen on plastic, 51.6 x 41.5 cm, Courtesy Andréhn-Schiptjenko, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Sverigeväggen [Sweden Wall], 1967-1969, public work, Courtesy Andréhn-Schiptjenko, © Photo: Jean-Baptiste Béranger, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Siri Derkert

1888Stockholm, Suède | 1973Lidingö, Suède
Informations

Peintre suédoise.

Élevée dans une famille de marchands, Siri Derkert entre à l’Académie royale des Beaux-Arts de Stockholm après trois essais infructueux. En 1913, grâce à une bourse offerte par une mécène, elle étudie à l’Académie Colarossi et à l’Académie de la Grande Chaumière à Paris. Elle développe alors un « cubisme pictural » qui fait la synthèse entre le rationalisme du cubisme français et le pathos de l’expressionnisme nordique. En 1914, elle part pour l’Italie avec l’artiste finlandais Valle Rosenberg, dont elle a un fils, Carlo Derkert. Naîtront aussi deux filles, de sa liaison avec l’illustrateur Bertil Lybeck. Si elle considère le mariage comme une prison, elle fera une exception pour ce dernier, mais vivra séparée de lui. Son œuvre riche et subversive nécessite du fer, du ciment. Les couleurs sont le plus souvent sombres. Dans les années 1930, elle dissout la figure dans un jeu de contours appuyés et des formes dynamiques. Elle décrit toujours la réalité autour d’elle : les enfants, la vie de tous les jours, les femmes au travail, mais aussi des sujets plus durs comme la guerre, la famine, et la solitude. Elle lutte pour les droits des femmes, l’environnement et la paix.

Elle acquiert une reconnaissance tardive à l’occasion d’une exposition à la galerie Gösta Stenman en 1944. En 1960, avec l’exposition Rörelser i alla riktningar [mouvements de tous les côtés], S. Derkert devient la première femme à avoir une exposition monographique au musée d’Art moderne de Stockholm. La même année, elle reçoit le prix Guggenheim pour la peinture Fågel i topp [oiseau sur le sommet]. Une de ses œuvres les plus importantes est la décoration de la station de métro d’Östermalmstorg (1963-1965). Cette fresque monumentale contient des phrases de la Marseillaise et de l’Internationale, le mot « paix » en 50 langues, des écrits personnels, et des noms de personnages historiques féminins comme Sappho, Hypatie, Virginia Woolf et Simone de Beauvoir. Le dynamisme formel, né d’un mélange de mots, d’images et de griffonnages, rappelle le langage visuel du graffiti. Dans les médias, S. Derkert se fait connaître comme une personnalité très affirmée, avec des phrases tranchantes comme : « La femme se penche sur toute la misère que l’homme jette sur elle, puisqu’elle est plus forte. »

Lire plus

Sinziana Ravini

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Ryttare [cavaliers], 1916-1917, huile sur toile, 54 x 51,5 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Portrait of a girl, 1930, huile sur bois, 64,5 x 47,5 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Kvinnopelaren [Le pilier de la femme], 1958, charbon sur papier journal, 57 x 32 cm, Skissernas museum, Lund, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Balkongen [le balcon], 1916, huile sur toile, 61 x 52 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Två och en kattunge [deux et un chaton], huile sur toile, 45 x 57 cm, collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Självporträtt [autoportrait], 1915, huile sur toile, 76 x 56 cm, © Siri Derkert, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Ansikte [face], années 1950-1960, béton sculpté, bande de tôle d’acier, 44,9 x 43 x 3,6 cm, Courtesy Andréhn-Schiptjenko, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Självporträtt [autoportrait], 1966-1973, bande de fer pliée, 22 x 20 x 1,6 cm, Courtesy Andréhn-Schiptjenko, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Skrivmaskinsskriverska, skiss till Kvinnopelaren [Machine à écrire, esquisse pour le pilier de la femme], 1956-1958, stylo-feutre sur plastique, 51,6 x 41,5 cm, Courtesy Andréhn-Schiptjenko, © ADAGP, Paris

Siri Derkert — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Siri Derkert, Sverigeväggen [mur de Suède], 1967-1969, travail public, Courtesy Andréhn-Schiptjenko, © Photo : Jean-Baptiste Béranger, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29