Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

2018 Edition

© Photo: Margot Montigny / Konstantin Lunarine / Marie Lou Chabert / Marcus Heim / DR / Galerie Oniris – Rennes / © Christian Legay / Courtesy Nil Yalter

Four commissioners – young professionals from the world of culture: art historians, art critics, museum and art centre directors – have each selected two artists whose names are respectively entered in the prize (for artists whose career began less than 10 years ago) and for the outstanding merit award (for artists whose career began 30 years ago or more).

The commissioners for the 2018 prize are Étienne Bernard (director of Passerelle Contemporary Art Centre in Brest), Clément Dirié (art historian, art critic, curator, and managing editor of JRP|Ringier), Géraldine Gourbe (philosopher, research associate at the École nationale supérieure d’art in Dijon, and exhibition curator) and Hélène Guenin (director of the MAMAC in Nice). On January 24th, they will present and defend the work of their selected artists in front of seven leading figures in the world of culture.
This jury panel is composed of Alfred Pacquement (honorary general heritage conservation officer, former director of the musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Pompidou), president of the panel, Alexia Fabre (director and head curator of the MAC/VAL, Vitry-sur-Seine), Stijn Huijts (director of the Bonnefantenmuseum, Maastricht), Dominique Guyot (collector), Camille Morineau (director of exhibitions and collections of the Monnaie de Paris, co-founder and chairwoman of AWARE), Frances Morris (director of Tate Modern, London) and Floriane de Saint Pierre (collector). The nominated artists will have their works exhibited at the National Archives and each prize winner, announced on January 24th by the French Ministry of Culture, will receive 10,000 euros.

Nominees
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Édition 2018

© Photo : Margot Montigny / Konstantin Lunarine / Marie Lou Chabert / Marcus Heim / DR / Galerie Oniris – Rennes / © Christian Legay / Courtesy Nil Yalter

Quatre rapporteurs et rapporteuses – jeunes professionnel·le·s du monde de la culture : historien·ne·s de l’art, critiques, directeurs et directrices de musées ou de centres d’art – ont chacun·e présélectionné un duo d’artistes, nommées respectivement au prix (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis dix ans au plus) et au prix d’honneur (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis plus de trente ans).

Les rapporteurs et rapporteuses de l’édition 2018 – Étienne Bernard (directeur de Passerelle centre d’art contemporain à Brest), Clément Dirié (historien et critique d’art, commissaire d’expositions, directeur éditorial de JRP|Ringier), Géraldine Gourbe (philosophe, chercheure associée à l’École nationale supérieure d’art de Dijon et commissaire d’expositions) et Hélène Guenin (directrice du MAMAC, à Nice) – présenteront et défendront le travail des artistes nommées le 24 janvier prochain devant un jury composé de sept figures majeures du monde de la culture.
Ce dernier est composé de Alfred Pacquement (conservateur général honoraire du patrimoine, ancien directeur du musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Pompidou), président du jury, Alexia Fabre (directrice et conservatrice en chef du MAC/VAL, Vitry-sur-Seine), Stijn Huijts (directeur du Bonnefantenmuseum, Maastricht), Dominique Guyot (collectionneuse), Camille Morineau (directrice des expositions et des collections de la Monnaie de Paris, cofondatrice et présidente d’AWARE), Frances Morris (directrice de la Tate Modern, Londres) et Floriane de Saint Pierre (collectionneuse). Les artistes nommées bénéficient d’une exposition de leurs œuvres aux Archives nationales et les lauréates du prix, annoncées par la Ministre de la Culture le 24 janvier, reçoivent chacune une dotation de 10 000 euros.

 

Le prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes 2018 est organisé avec le soutien du ministère de la Culture.

Les Nommées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29