Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Agnes Martin

1912Makline, Canada | 2004Taos, United States
Informations
Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Gianfranco Gorgoni

American painter.

The regularity and sobriety of Agnes Martin’s forms often prompt people to associate this major 20th century figure with the Minimalist movement. Yet she herself reckoned that she was closer to the Abstract Expressionists, her contemporaries, and her first models in painting. Born into a religious family, in 1932, she went to study and then teach in the United States. In New York, she discovered Abstract Expressionism and Zen philosophy, and started to paint. In 1947, she settled in New Mexico, a state whose beauty she much appreciated. The works from that period (which she would later destroy) were inspired by Surrealism. The gallery owner Betty Parsons urged her to return to New York, in 1957, where she met Barnett Newman, Ad Reinhardt, Ellsworth Kelly and Jasper Johns. Initially composed of broad horizontal coloured stripes, her painting veered towards a palette of greys and browns. The mid-1960s for her was a period synonymous with a maturity in her painting. She adopted the square format, typical of the 20th century, which she would stay with all her life. Drawing pencil lines by hand, she worked with oil (then acrylic) on unprepared canvases. Contrary to any mechanical vision, an unevenness on the canvas, a trembling of the hand and pressure from the ruler all informed her pictures with intense life and emotion.

Martin considered music to be one of the highest art forms, and her paintings and drawings, which it seems possible to read like musical scores, are sometimes compared with Paul Klee’s oeuvre. Her work, which is the outcome of meditative reflection, aimed at nothing other than reflecting reality. A personal crisis took her back to New Mexico in 1967. She built herself an adobe house and did not paint for seven years. In 1974, she agreed to exhibit again; and she then become a legend. In a state of solitude and concentration, she carried on with her work on the grid with canvases on a human scale, 183 x 183 cm [72 x 72 in.], covered with gesso, a mixture of plaster which absorbs and reflects light. The soft tones of those stripes, horizontal and vertical, call to mind the houses of American Indians. The lines sometimes stop before the edge of the canvas, producing a floating effect. Her later works have dark grey tones, akin to Chinese painting. As Martin often said in her many writings, it is the aspiration to a certain poetic classicism which seems to have guided her, even if it represents a form of ideal of the mind.

Read more

Anaël Pigeat

Translated from French by Simon Pleasance.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Untitled, c. 1957, oil on c anvas, 86.3 x 86.3 cm, 34 x 34 in., Dia Art Foundation, anonymous gift, © Photo: Pace Gallery, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Untitled #3, 1974, acrylic and graphite on canvas, 183 x 183 cm, 72 x 72 in., © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Falling Blue, 1963, oil and graphite on canvas, 183 x 183 cm, 72 x 72 in., San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, gift of Mr. and Mrs. Moses Lasky, © Photo: Pace Gallery, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Words, 1961, ink and paper mounted on canvas, 61 x 61 cm, 24 x 24 in., Thomas Ammann Fine Art AG, Zurich, © Photo: Thomas Ammann Fine Art, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Fiesta, 1985, acrylic and graphite on canvas, 183 x 183 cm, 72 x 72 in., Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, gift American Art Foundation, 1992, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Homage to Life, 2003, acrylic and graphite on canvas, 152.4 x 152.4 cm, 60 x 60 in., Leonard and Louise Riggio, © Photo: Pace Gallery, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Untitled from the portfolio On a Clear Day, 1973, one of thiry screenprints, 30.5 x 30.5 cm, 12 x 12 in., Los Angeles County Museum of Art, © Photo: Museum Associates/LACMA, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Untitled, c. 1995, oil on canvas, 116 x 167 cm, 46 1/2 x 66 1/4 in., private collection, © Photo: Pace Gallery, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Discover
Linked theme
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Agnes Martin

1912Makline, Canada | 2004Taos, États-Unis
Informations
Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Gianfranco Gorgoni

Peintre américaine.

La régularité et la sobriété des formes d’Agnes Martin ont souvent conduit à associer cette figure majeure du XXe siècle au courant minimaliste. Toutefois, elle-même se considérait plus proche des expressionnistes abstraits, ses contemporains et premiers modèles en peinture. Née dans une famille de tradition religieuse, elle part en 1932 étudier puis enseigner aux États-Unis. À New York, elle découvre l’expressionnisme abstrait et la philosophie zen, et commence à peindre. En 1947, elle s’installe au Nouveau-Mexique dont elle apprécie la beauté. Les œuvres de cette époque (qu’elle détruira plus tard) sont inspirées du surréalisme. La galeriste Betty Parsons la fait revenir à New York, en 1957, où elle rencontre Barnett Newman, Ad Reinhardt ou encore Ellsworth Kelly et Jasper Johns. D’abord composée de larges bandes colorées horizontales, sa peinture s’oriente vers une palette de gris et de bruns. Le milieu des années 1960 est pour elle synonyme de la maturité en peinture. Elle adopte le format carré, typique du XXe siècle, qu’elle conservera toute sa vie. Traçant des lignes de crayon à la main, elle travaille à l’huile (puis à l’acrylique) sur des toiles non préparées. À l’inverse de toute vision mécanique, une irrégularité de la toile, un tremblement de la main ou une pression de la règle animent ses toiles d’une vie et d’une émotion intenses.

A. Martin considérait la musique comme l’une des formes d’art les plus élevées, et ses peintures et dessins, qui semblent se lire comme des partitions, sont parfois comparés à l’œuvre de Paul Klee. Son travail, fruit d’une réflexion méditative, ne vise en rien à refléter la réalité. Une crise personnelle la conduit à retourner au Nouveau-Mexique en 1967. Elle se construit une maison de terre et cesse de peindre pendant sept ans. En 1974, elle accepte à nouveau d’exposer ; elle est alors devenue une légende. Dans la solitude et la concentration, elle poursuit son travail sur la grille, avec des toiles à échelle humaine, de 183 x 183 centimètres, couvertes de gesso, un mélange de plâtre qui absorbe et réfléchit la lumière. Les tons doux de ces bandes, horizontales ou verticales, rappellent les maisons des Indiens. Les traits s’arrêtent parfois avant le bord de la toile, dans un effet de flottement. Ses œuvres tardives ont des tons gris foncé, proches de la peinture chinoise. Comme A. Martin l’a souvent exprimé dans ses nombreux écrits, c’est l’aspiration à un certain classicisme poétique qui semble l’avoir guidée, pour autant qu’il représente une forme d’idéal de l’esprit.

Lire plus

Anaël Pigeat

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Sans titre, vers 1957, huile sur toile, 86,3 x 86,3 cm, Dia Art Foundation, don anonyme, © Photo : Pace Gallery, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Untitled #3, 1974, acrylique et mine de plomb sur toile, 183 x 183 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Falling Blue, 1963, huile et mine de plomb sur toile, 183 x 183 cm, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, don de M and Mme. Moses Lasky, © Photo : Pace Gallery, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Words, 1961, encre et papier montés sur toile, 61 x 61 cm, Thomas Ammann Fine Art AG, Zurich, © Photo : Thomas Ammann Fine Art, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Fiesta, 1985, acrylique et mine de plomb sur toile, 183 x 183 cm, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, don American Art Foundation, 1992, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Homage to Life, 2003, acrylique et mine de plomb sur toile, 152,4 x 152,4 cm, Leonard et Louise Riggio, © Photo : Pace Gallery, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Sans-titre, portfolio On a Clear Day, 1973, une des trente sérigraphies, 30,5 x 30,5 cm, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, © Photo : Museum Associates/LACMA, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Agnes Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnes Martin, Sans titre, vers 1995, huile sur toile, 116 x 167 cm, collection privée, © Photo : Pace Gallery, © Agnes Martin, © ADAGP, Paris

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29